Biography

1903  February 20, birth of Ella Maillart in Geneva. Her father, a broad-minded and knowledgeable man, is a fur trader. Her mother, an independent Danish woman fond of sports, takes her each Sunday to the mountains to ski, which at that time was looked on as an eccentricity of the English. Even as a child, Ella adores reading maps and adventure books.

1913  Her parents move to the lakeside village of Creux-de-Genthod, some 7 kms from Geneva. Ella discovers the lake and meets Hermine (“Miette”) de Saussure, the daughter of a French naval officer. Skiing in winter, the lake in summer, and books all year round soon turn them into inseparable friends. “Miette always wore a sailor's blouse and a pleated skirt of striped twill. Bobbed chestnut hair with a fairer lock in front, clear grey eyes, and a frank and delicate smile – there was a light in her face. Later, reading Homer, I felt that Pallas Athene must have looked like her.” Ella's nickname is “Kini”. She decides to improve her delicate health by practising sports.

1916 - 1921  She becomes an enthusiastic skier. On Lake Geneva, known for its difficult winds, Ella and Miette learn to sail increasingly larger boats. At 13, they win their first races. At sixteen, Ella becomes the founder of the first women's field hockey club in French-speaking Switzerland, the Champel Hockey Club. Miette and Kini detest the war which had devastated a Europe they consider “selfish and decadent”. They devour a book a day and dream of travelling and going far away.

1922 - 1923  Miette buys a 21-foot sloop, Perlette, from the well-known aeroplane manufacturer, Louis Breguet and at last they are able to leave. Alone and without the help of an auxiliary engine, they sail to Corsica. Hardly twenty, they receive a hero's welcome on their return to Cannes. They become friends with Alain Gerbault who is putting the finishing touches to his Firecrest before embarking on his famous first single-handed crossing of the Atlantic.

As a team of four – four girls – they sail on an old 14-ton yawl, the Bonita, to Corsica, Sardinia and Sicily, and then, following the tracks of Ulysses, to the Ionian Islands and Ithaca. Later, on the Atalante, a solid pilot-boat modified as a yawl, they attempt to repeat the epic journey of Alain Gerbault. But within a week, still close to the coast of Brittany, they have to return: Miette, who is the boat's owner as well as its captain, has fallen seriously ill and must abandon the adventure. She marries the French archaeologist, Henri Seyrig. One of their children is the future actress, Delphine Seyrig.

1924  Ella works for some time “under contract” as a cabin boy and deck-hand on English yachts sailing the Atlantic, among them the Volunteer, a flat-bottomed Thames barge converted into a yacht. She represents Switzerland in the single-handed sailing competition at the Olympic Games of 1924. The only woman among competitors from 17 nations, she places ninth. But the departure of Miette puts an end to her dream of spending her life at sea. Later she will write about these years as a “nomad under sail” in her book Gypsy Afloat – Vagabond of the Sea.

1925 - 1934  Not knowing what to do, she tries different professions: Typist, commercial traveller, model for the sculptor Raymond Delamare in Paris, acting at the Dramatic Arts Studio in Geneva. She writes: “Except when I was sailing or skiing I felt lost, only half alive. Everything I saw or read was depressing. The 'war to end war' was bringing in its train compromise, artificial ideals, and palavers that failed to establish a real peace. Growing uneasiness and lack of security seemed to confirm what Spengler had called the ‘decline of the West'. ”

Ella also works as a French teacher in Wales, as a stunt-woman in mountain films produced by UFA in Berlin, and as an actress in a ski film produced in Mürren in 1929. In 1931 and 1932 she is also captain of Switzerland's Women's Field Hockey Team. And, as a member of the Swiss national skiing team, she defends the colours of her country at the World Championship races at Mürren (1931), at Cortina d'Ampezzo (1932), at Innsbruck (1933) as well as St. Moritz (1934). In her autobiographical book, Cruises and Caravans she will later write: “Sometimes I believe that skiing is responsible for having made me a rolling stone. As soon as winter arrived visions of skis swishing through new snow filled me with such feverish longings that wherever I was – in Berlin or Paris, or even on board Perlette – I interrupted what I was doing, or stopped worrying about what I was not doing, and went to the hills. Every Sunday in Geneva I would get up at four in the morning to catch the special train to the mountains. How could one not escape from the plains, knowing that above the sticky fog a radiant sun waited for us, his worshippers?”

During a stay in Berlin in 1929, an encounter with Russian émigrés gives her the idea to write newspaper articles about youth in Russia and on the Russian cinema. The widow of Jack London helps her financially to leave for Moscow. This decides her fate.

1930  In Moscow, she finds lodgings with the Countess Tolstoy. She meets Pudovkin, the filmmaker, and dreams of scenes from Storm in Asia, which give her a foretaste of the East that will soon become her life. She travels to the Caucasus with a group of students and discovers the hidden valley of Svanetia. She returns to Europe via the Black Sea and Crimea. In Paris, the publisher Charles Fasquelle commissions her to write a book about her journey: Parmi la jeunesse russe (1932) will cause a scandal in Geneva but enables her to earn her first check, six thousand francs, as well as to know the anguish of being a writer. Writing will never come easily to her: “You know too well that you fail to express the most important things, which are for ever elusive.” But it is the only way in which she can be free and travel.

1932  With two couples encountered in Moscow she travels to Russian Turkestan and the T'ien Shan range (the Celestial Mountains ). She discovers the Kirghiz, Kazaks and Uzbeks. She climbs a mountain of 5,000 meters, but most importantly she sees, shimmering to the East, the vast, powdery and yellow expanses of the Takla Makan. This desert in forbidden China is a blank on the map and she resolves to come back there one day. Carrying her huge backpack, she returns to Europe on her own, travelling through the southern Soviet republics, still restive in the aftermath of the Muslim uprisings which were bloodily put down by the Soviet army. She travels without permits and avoids dangerous checkpoints. This exploit, a veritable scoop, is widely acclaimed when she arrives in Paris with her films and notebooks. She writes Des Monts célestes aux Sables rouges, immediately translated into English under the title Turkestan Solo.

1934 - 1935  Le Petit Parisien, a paper specializing in reports from far-flung places, sends Ella to China to investigate Japanese-occupied Manchuria. There her path crosses that of Peter Fleming, a brilliant journalist for The Times, whose acquaintance she had made in London in 1934. In Peking, she meets Père Teilhard de Chardin. She intends to find out about forbidden Chinese Turkestan: Nobody knows exactly what has been happening in this region for the past four years. She decides to go and see, and to continue from there to India via Sinkiang and the Karakoram. Sven Hedin, the explorer, advises her to travel through the north of Tibet and the Tsaidam, as this itinerary was so difficult that the Chinese government had not thought of forbidding it.

This is the route she and Peter Fleming will take. They leave Peking for the interior of China in February 1935, equipped with a permit reaching as far as the Koko Nor region. From there, to avoid military controls and the authority of provincial governors, they will start out into the “immeasurable unknown”. After crossing the Tsaidam plateau, with a climate as extreme as its poverty, they arrive in Sinkiang and, following the Silk Road, reach the Pamirs. Seven months after leaving Peking they arrive at Srinagar in Kashmir, at the conclusion of a stupefying raid across one of the remotest parts of the world.

Seeing Ella again in Paris on her return, Paul Morand writes: “The woman I mean is dressed in lambskin boots and gloved in mittens, her skin burnt by mountain air and desert winds, exploring inaccessible regions of the earth in the company of Chinese, Tibetans, Russians and Englishmen whose socks she mends, whose wounds she heals, and with whom she sleeps in all innocence under the stars … This woman is Ella Maillart.”

1936  Forbidden Journey, the book she writes in Lebanon about this trek, is a great success. From now on she has the means to travel and to explore the secrets of this to her so fascinating continent. Peter Fleming publishes his own account of their journey in 1936: News from Tartary.

1937  Until 1939, Ella continues to travel for Le Petit Parisien : To Turkey and India, through Iran and Afghanistan, on trucks and buses, collecting on the way notes for articles on the progress these countries have made. She makes lecture tours in several European countries.

1939  The Cruel Way : An astonishing journey in a Ford, with the friend she calls Christina (real name Annemarie Schwarzenbach, journalist, novelist, a fragile, defiant young woman and morphine addict). A vain attempt to free her friend from drugs, in the countries she visited two years earlier. “A few things I learned about the moral torment Christina was going through made me understand that hunger or poverty can be less terrifying than mental suffering and anguish.”

1939 - 1945  Ella Maillart spends the years of the Second World War in India, living with difficulty from her royalties. She settles in Tiruvannamalai south of Madras, near the ashram of Ramana Maharishi, a teacher and wise man who is “liberated during his lifetime”, as one says in India. She also follows the teachings of Atmananda (Krishna Menon) in Kerala. These spiritual masters teach her “the unity of the world”. In her autobiographical book, Cruises and Caravans (1942) Ella writes: “I have started on a new journey which, I know, will take me further than before towards the perfect life I was instinctively seeking. I began this journey by exploring the unmapped territory of my own mind.” .… “This venture is as vast as life itself because it requires the analysis of our physical, mental, emotional and spiritual being.”

Her book ' Ti-Puss deals with this determining period of her life. It tells the story of her beloved cat 'Ti-Puss and at the same time of her spiritual quest in India.

But in Ella's view any sincere spiritual search is deserving of interest, and if it was the East which most appealed to her, she nevertheless frequently came back to the great traditions from other parts of the world : The Bible, the Koran and other perennial sacred texts, which contain the same wisdom for those who know how to read them.

1946  On her return to Europe at the end of the war, Ella settles down at Chandolin, in the Val d'Anniviers in the Swiss Alps, where she will henceforth spend six months a year, “from the last to the first snows”. In 1948, she builds her chalet, called Atchala in memory of Arunatchala, the sacred hill overlooking the ashram of Ramana Maharishi. “I spent the six summer months in the Valais, in a village at 2000 metres, inundated with sun and silence. It lies on top of a mountainside festooned with larch trees, and its vast and varied horizon is a source of ever-renewed joy.”

She was happy: For the first time, she could call a house her own. But soon, she said, the call of new adventures was too strong.

1951 - 1987  In 1951, she leaves for Nepal which has just opened its borders and writes The Land of the Sherpas. For the next thirty years (1957-87), she organizes cultural tours to various Asian countries, taking small groups of tourists to wherever, in her company, there was still something to be discovered. To her travel companions, she liked to say: “Ask yourself unceasingly ‘Who am I ?' And through this constant query you will come to know that you are the Light of Consciousness.”

1989 - 1997 The Elysée Museum in Lausanne, where Ella Maillart deposited her negatives, organises a first retrospective show of her photographs. The exhibition is shown in several European countries. A new publication, La Vie immédiate (1991) presents some 200 photographs which are often of unique documentary interest and represent, much as her travel books and her films, an important contribution to the knowledge of our time. During the last decades of her life Ella Maillart felt increasingly concerned about the environmental problems that face our planet, which she had so deeply admired. She died at Chandolin on 27 March 1997.

Biographie

1903  Le 20 février, naissance d'Ella Maillart à Genève. Son père, homme large d'esprit et très au courant des affaires du monde, est commerçant en fourrures. Sa mère, une Danoise indépendante et sportive, l'emmène chaque dimanche à la montagne pour faire du ski, ce qui passe à cette époque pour une excentricité d'Anglais. Dès l'enfance, Ella se passionne pour la lecture de livres d'aventures et les cartes géographiques.

1913  Ses parents s'installent au bord du Léman, au Creux-de-Genthod, à 7 km de Genève. Ella découvre le lac et Hermine de Saussure, "Miette", fille d'un officier de marine français. La neige en hiver, l'eau en été, la lecture toute l'année vont en faire des amies inséparables. "Miette était toujours vêtue d'une blouse marine et d'une jupe plissée en coutil rayé. Des cheveux courts de couleur châtain avec une mèche plus claire devant, de rayonnants yeux gris, un franc et fin sourire : il y avait une lumière sur son visage. Plus tard, en lisant Homère, je voyais Pallas Athéna sous de traits semblables à ceux de Miette." Ella Maillart a pour surnom "Kini". De santé délicate, elle entreprend de se soigner en faisant du sport.

1916 - 1921  Ella pratique intensément le ski. Avec Miette, sur ce lac aux airs difficiles, elle apprend à barrer des voiliers de plus en plus lestés. Elles gagnent des régates, à 13 ans. Ella en a seize quand elle fonde le premier club féminin de hockey sur terre en Suisse romande, le Champel Hockey Club. Miette et Kini ont horreur de la guerre qui a ravagé une Europe qu'elles jugent "égoïste et décadente". Elles dévorent un livre par jour et rêvent de partir, loin.

1922 - 1923  Miette achète la Perlette, un cotre de sept mètres de long, au constructeur d'avions Louis Breguet, et les voilà parties. Elles font seules, et sans moteur, la traversée pour la Corse. A Cannes on leur fait fête – elles ont à peine 20 ans. Elles se lient avec Alain Gerbault qui peaufine son Firecrest avant sa première traversée de l'Atlantique en solitaire.

C'est à quatre, quatre filles, qu'elles embarquent à bord d'un vieux yawl de 14 tonnes, le Bonita, pour la Corse, la Sardaigne, la Sicile, puis, suivant les traces d'Ulysse, les îles ioniennes et Ithaque. Enfin, sur un thonier qu'elles ont gréé, le yawl Atalante, elles tentent de rééditer l'exploit d'Alain Gerbault. Mais à une semaine des côtes bretonnes, Miette, qui est à la fois l'armateur et le capitaine, tombe malade et abandonne l'aventure. Elle se marie avec l'archéologue français Henri Seyrig: de leur union naîtra la future actrice Delphine Seyrig.

1924  Sur l'Atlantique, Ella Maillart remplit encore quelques "contrats" comme matelot sur des yachts anglais, dont le Volunteer, une grande barge de la Tamise à fond plat, transformée en yacht. Elle barre pour la Suisse aux régates olympiques de 1924. Seule femme de la compétition, elle s'y classe neuvième sur 17 participants dans la catégorie Voile en solitaire. Mais le départ de Miette met fin à son rêve de vivre en mer. Plus tard, elle fera le récit de son époque de "vagabonde à la voile" dans son livre La vagabonde des mers (1942).

1925 - 1934  Quelque peu désemparée, Ella va exercer différents métiers : dactylo, voyageur de commerce, modèle du sculpteur Raymond Delamare à Paris, actrice au Studio d'art dramatique à Genève. Elle écrit : "Excepté quand j'étais en mer ou quand je faisais du ski, je me sentais perdue, je ne vivais qu'a moitié. Tout ce que je voyais, tous ce que je lisais, me déprimait. La 'dernière des guerres'  avait amené à sa suite des compromis, des idéaux artificiels et des palabres qui n'arrivaient pas à établir une paix véritable. Le malaise croissant et l'insécurité semblaient confirmer ce que Spengler avait appelé le déclin de l'Occident ".

Ella fut encore professeur de français aux Pays de Galles, doublure sportive dans les films de montagne de la UFA à Berlin, et actrice dans un film de ski tourné à Mürren (1929). En ce temps-là, elle dirige, en 1931 et 1932, l'équipe féminine suisse de hockey sur terre. Et, membre de l'équipe suisse de ski, elle défend, pendant quatre ans, les couleurs de la Suisse aux championnats du monde de ski : à Mürren en 1931, à Cortina d'Ampezzo (1932), à Innsbruck (1933) et à St. Moritz (1934). Elle écrira plus tard dans son récit autobiographique Croisières et caravanes  : "Si je n'ai jusqu'ici, dans ma vie, jamais rien fait d'une façon suivie, je crois bien qu'il faut en accuser le ski. Aussitôt l'hiver venu, le souvenir de skis lancés sur la neige fraîche me remplissait d'un désir si lancinant que – où que je fusse – à Berlin, à Paris, où même à bord de la Perlette – j'interrompais ce que je faisais, ou je cessais de me tracasser au sujet de ce que j'aurais dû faire, et je filais vers les hauteurs. Tous les dimanches, à Genève, je me levais à quatre heures du matin pour attraper le train spécial, réservé aux skieurs. Comment ne pas s'évader des plaines quand on sait qu'au-dessus du brouillard tenace un radieux soleil attend ses adorateurs ?"

A Berlin, en 1929, la rencontre avec des émigrés russes lui donne l'idée de faire des reportages, l'un sur la jeunesse russe, un autre sur le cinéma soviétique. La veuve de Jack London l'aide financièrement à partir pour Moscou – le sort en est jeté.

1930  A Moscou, la comtesse Tolstoï l'héberge dans son appartement. Elle rencontre le cinéaste Poudovkine et rêve sur les images de Tempête en Asie, qui lui donnent un avant-goût de cet Orient qui bientôt deviendra sa vie. Avec un groupe d'étudiants, elle découvre le Caucase et la vallée perdue de Svanéthie et rentre par la Mer noire et la Crimée. A Paris, l'éditeur Charles Fasquelle lui commande Parmi la jeunesse russe qui va faire scandale à Genève et lui valoir son premier chèque, 6000 francs, en même temps que les affres de l'écrivain. Elle écrira toujours un peu par contrainte : "On n'arrive pas à exprimer les choses les plus importantes et qui demeurent insaisissables." Mais, c'est le seul moyen pour elle de conquérir la liberté du voyage.

1932  Avec deux couples rencontrés à Moscou, elle se rend au Turkestan russe, gagne le T'ien Shan (Monts célestes), découvre les Kirghizes, les Kazakhs, les Ouzbeks. Elle grimpe une montagne de 5000 m mais, surtout, elle voit miroiter, à l'est, les étendues jaunes et poudreuses du Takla Makan. Ce désert est un blanc sur la carte, en Chine interdite, et elle se promet de revenir un jour. Son énorme sac sur le dos, elle regagne seule l'Europe par les Républiques du sud encore agitées par les séquelles des soulèvements musulmans que l'armée soviétique a noyés dans le sang. Elle voyage sans permis, en évitant les points de passage dangereux. C'est une performance, un véritable scoop, que tout le monde salue quand elle arrive à Paris, avec ses films et ses carnets de notes. Elle publie Des Monts célestes aux Sables rouges, aussitôt traduit en anglais sous le titre Turkestan Solo.

1934 - 1935  Le journal Le Petit Parisien, spécialisé dans le grand reportage, envoie Ella Maillart en Chine pour faire une enquête sur la Mandchourie, occupée par les Japonais. Elle y retrouve Peter Fleming, brillant journaliste du Times, qu'elle avait connu à Londres en 1934. A Pékin, elle rencontre le Père Teilhard de Chardin. Elle s'intéresse au Turkestan chinois, région interdite : personne ne sait exactement ce qui s'y passe depuis quatre ans. Elle décide alors d'y aller voir et de gagner l'Inde par le Sinkiang et le Karakoram. L'explorateur Sven Hedin lui conseille de passer par le Nord du Tibet et le Tsaidam; l'itinéraire y est si malaisé que le gouvernement chinois n'a pas songé à l'interdire.

C'est la route qu'elle va emprunter avec Peter Fleming. En février 1935, ils quittent Pékin pour la Chine intérieure, munis de permis pour la région du Koukou Nor. De là, pour éviter les contrôles militaires et l'autorité des gouverneurs, ils vont se lancer dans "l'inconnu démesuré". Après avoir traversé les hautes terres du Tsaidam, d'une extrême pauvreté et au climat violent, ils entreront au Sinkiang et rejoindront, par la Route de la Soie, le Pamir. Sept mois après avoir quitté Pékin, ils arrivent à Srinagar au Cachemire, au terme d'un raid stupéfiant à travers une des régions les plus secrètes du globe. En la revoyant à son retour à Paris, Paul Morand écrit : "Celle que je veux dire, c'est une femme bottée de mouton, gantée de moufles, le teint cuit par l'altitude ou le vent du désert, qui explore des régions inaccessibles avec des Chinois, des Tibétains, des Russes, des Anglais dont elle reprise les chaussettes, panse les plaies, et avec lesquels elle dort en pleine innocence sous les étoiles … Et cette femme, c'est Ella Maillart."

1936  Au Liban, elle écrit Oasis interdites, livre qui retrace son périple et qui connaît un grand succès. Elle a désormais les moyens de voyager dans ce continent qui la fascine et d'en explorer tous les secrets. Peter Fleming publie son récit de leur voyage en 1936 : News from Tartary .

1937  Ella continue de voyager pour le compte du Petit Parisien jusqu'en 1939 : La Turquie et l'Inde, à travers l'Iran et l'Afghanistan, en camion et en autobus, recueillant, chemin faisant, des notes pour un reportage sur les progrès réalisés dans ces pays. Elle donne des conférences dans plusieurs pays d'Europe.

1939  La voie cruelle: Un étonnant voyage, en Ford, avec cette amie qu'elle appelle Christina (de son vrai nom Annemarie Schwarzenbach, journaliste, romancière, jeune femme fragile et révoltée, morphinomane). C'est la vaine tentative de la libérer de la drogue, dans les pays qu'elle a traversés deux ans plus tôt. "Quelques détails concernant le tourment moral dans lequel vivait Christina me firent comprendre que la faim ou la pauvreté peuvent être moins terribles que certaines angoisses de l'esprit."

1939 - 1945  Ella Maillart passe les années de la deuxième guerre mondiale en Inde, vivant difficilement de ses droits d'auteur. Elle s'installe à Tirùvannàmalai, au sud de Madras, auprès de Ramana Maharishi, un sage "libéré vivant" comme on dit aux Indes. Elle suit également l'enseignement du sage Atmananda (Krishna Menon) au Kérala. Ces maîtres spirituels lui apprennent "l'unité du monde". Dans son récit autobiographique Croisières et caravanes (1950), Ella écrit :  "… J'étais au début d'un voyage tout nouveau qui devait me conduire plus avant vers la vie complète et harmonieuse que je cherchais instinctivement. Pour entreprendre ce voyage, il me fallait apprendre d'abord à connaître les 'terres inconnues' de mon propre esprit." … "Ce travail est aussi vaste que la vie, car il englobe l'analyse de notre être physique, mental, affectif et spirituel."

 Elle raconte cette période déterminante de sa vie dans son livre 'Ti-Puss ou l'Inde avec ma chatte (1952), qui est à la fois l'histoire de la chatte bien aimée, 'Ti-Puss, et le récit de sa quête spirituelle aux Indes.

Mais aux yeux d'Ella toute recherche spirituelle sincère mérite de l'intérêt, et si c'est l'Orient qui parle à son cœur avec le plus de force, elle n'en revient pas moins fréquemment aux grandes traditions nées dans d'autres régions du monde, aux textes sacrés de toujours : la bible, le Coran, porteurs, pour qui sait les lire, d'une même sagesse.

1946  Rentrée en Europe à la fin de la guerre, Ella Maillart s'établit dans le Val d'Anniviers, à Chandolin, et y passe désormais six mois de l'année, "de la dernière à la première neige". En 1948, elle fait construire son chalet, qu'elle appelle Atchala, en mémoire d'Arunatchala, colline sacrée dominant l'ashram du Maharishi. "J'ai passé les six mois d'été à 2000 mètres d'altitude dans un village valaisan, inondé de soleil et de silence, au sommet d'une épaule de montagne encadrée de mélèzes. L'horizon vaste et varié est une source de joies toujours renouvelées." C'était le bonheur: pour la première fois, une maison était vraiment sienne. Mais, disait-elle, l'aventure est la plus forte.

1951 - 1987  Dès 1951, elle repart pour le Népal qui vient d'ouvrir ses frontières et écrit The Land of the Sherpas. Pendant trente ans (1957-87), elle organise des voyages culturels, entraînant de petits groupes de touristes dans de nombreux pays d'Asie, partout où, avec elle, on peut encore faire des découvertes. A ceux qui l'accompagnent, elle dit volontiers : "Posez-vous inlassablement la question 'Qui suis-je' ? Et, par ce rappel constant, vous saurez que vous êtes la lumière de la perception."

1989 - 1997  Le Musée de l'Elysée à Lausanne, auquel Ella Maillart a confié ses négatifs, organise une première exposition rétrospective de ses photographies. L'exposition sera montrée dans de nombreuses villes en Europe. Un nouveau livre, La Vie immédiate (1991), réunit quelque 200 photographies qui témoignent souvent d'un monde disparu et apportent, tout comme ses récits et ses films, une contribution non négligeable à la connaissance de l'histoire de notre temps. Les dernières décennies de sa vie seront marquées par sa préoccupation face aux nombreux enjeux écologiques et à l'avenir de cette planète qu'elle admirait si profondément. Ella Maillart s'est éteinte à Chandolin le 27 mars 1997.